Land Records Recording

There are state and local requirements for recording documents.
  1. In the state of Rhode Island, documents are recorded by city or town, not by county.
  2. Documents must contain the following information:
    1. Grantees address on a deed
    2. Property address
    3. Notary acknowledgment
    4. Date of signatures
  3. In Rhode Island all documents regarding property transfers must have either:
    1. Rhode Island realty tax stamps (current rate is $4.60 per thousand) or
    2. A statement indicating that no RI realty tax stamps are required.
  4. As of April 1, 2007: Chapter 34-11 of RI General Laws entitled "Form and Effect of Conveyances" requires that the total dollar amount of the actual sale be contained or endorsed upon the recorded deed.
  5. If a document refers to an exhibit, the exhibit page must be enclosed.
  6. A discharge or release must list the property owner(s) name(s).

Recording Fees


Record
Fee
Additional Page Fee
Foreclosure Deeds $84 $1 Each
Lis Pendens $84 $1 Each
Quit Claim Deed $84 $1 Each
Warranty Deed $84 $1 Each
Other Deeds $84 $1 Each

Amendment of Mortgage $49 $1 Each
Assignment of Mortgage $49 $1 Each
Bill of Sale $49 $1 Each
Discharge of Mortgage $49 $1 Each
General Assignment $49 $1 Each
Lease $64 $1 Each
Levy, Attach, Execution $10 $1 Each
Maps $49
Mortgage $64 $1 Each
Partial Release of Mortgage $49 $1 Each
Power of Attorney $49 $1 Each
Release Levy, Attach, Execution $49 $1 Each
All Other Documents $49 $1 Each

Lien-Federal Tax $9.25 $1 Each
Lien-Federal Tax Release $9.25 $1 Each
Mechanics Lien $10
Notice of Intent $8
Tax Lien Certificates (Mlc) $8

Acknowledgement of Discharge of Lien $49 $1 Each
State Tax Lien, Department Employment/Training $4

Finance Statements (Up to 2 Pages) $16
Finance Statements (Over 2 Pages) $32

Certification $3
Copies, Standard Per Page $1.50